Our Winners

First Prize:  Matthew Peterson (United States) — November (Pas de deux) for string quartet
Second Prize:  Pablo Borrás (Argentina) — Semillas for string quartet

Both compositions were performed on June 24, 2018, at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Terrace Theater


  • First Prize:  $5,000
  • Second Prize:  $2,500

Important Dates and Information

  • Application Deadline: February 15, 2018
  • Winners’ Announcement: April 1, 2018
  • Performance of Winning Composition: June 24, 2018, at the Terrace Theater of the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, in Washington, DC. Professional musicians will perform the winning composition.


  • Entrance fee of $45 US; check payable to Friday Morning Music Club Foundation.
  • Composition must be a chamber work for three to five players for string trio, string quartet, piano trio, piano quartet, or piano quintet. No electronics.
  • Composition must be a maximum of 8 minutes long.
  • Composition must not have been commercially published or publicly performed.
  • Composer must be between 18 and 35 years old.
  • Scores must be accompanied by a cover letter including composer’s name, contact information, and curriculum vitae.
  • The composer’s name must not appear anywhere on the score.
  • Winning composers must be prepared to supply a set of performance materials upon notification of their award.